News about Canadian Country music artists worldwide. Send your news for inclusion to:

Tuesday, September 11, 2007

Emerson Drive home 3 CCMA's

It was Emerson Drive’s year at this year’s Canadian Country Music Awards, which were presented in Regina. They won three awards on the TV special which was broadcast live in Canada, and later in the USA & Australia.
The band, formed in Grand Prairie, Alberta 12 years ago, opened up the showcase with their recent US No.1, “Moments”, and went on to collect Single of the Year, CMT Video of the Year and Group of the Year awards.
But the band, led by Brad Mates, didn’t have a perfect weekend. They arrived in Regina, but their luggage was still in Toronto.
Paul Brandt hosted the event at the aptly named at the Brandt Centre, but failed to pick up any of the honours. The biggest surprise was probably hometown boy Brad Johner, who was presented with
Male Artist of the Year.
The performance by Carolyn Dawn Johnson and Jimmy Rankin together was one of the highlights of the show, which followed CDJ’s award for Female Artist of the Year.
Other awards included Roots Artist of the Year to Corb Lund for the second year in a row ; Doc Walker took home Album of the Year, and B.C.’s Aaron Pritchett took home SOCAN Songwriter of the Year for his country anthem “Hold My Beer”.
For the second year in a row, the Chevy Rising Star of the Year winner walked away with not only
the award but also a vehicle from Chevy. Introduced by Patricia Conroy, it went to multiple-nominee Shane Yellowbird who performed his big hit “Pickup Truck”, a song that deserved an award for the corniest line ever- “Are you from Tennessee, cause you’re the only ten I see here!”
The biggest awards of the night – the Fans’ Choice Award – was won by Terri Clark
Fans were also treated to performances by Jason Blaine, George Canyon, Jim Cuddy, Jessie
Farrell and last year’s Rising Star Johnny Reid.
Scots born Reid had already won the Independent Male Vocalist Award at the previous evening’s Gala Dinner. Other Independent winners included Patricia Conroy (Top Female) and The Wilkinsons (Group). The Dixie Chicks were awarded Canada’s Top Selling Country Album of the Year.
There were three inductees into Canada’s Country Hall Of Fame.
Anyone who has been involved in Country music in Canada knows Sheila Hamilton. She is the long time former Executive Director of the CCMA, and is responsible for the stature of the CCMA and the strong position of Canadian Country music today. Sheila retired from her position a couple of years ago, but is still highly respected for her devotion to the music.
A distinctly Celtic flare was added to the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame with the induction of the late John Allan Cameron. Fellow Cape Bretoner and musician Jimmy Rankin presented the honour. John Allan, a native of Glencoe Station, died Nov. 22, 2006, in a Toronto hospital after a lengthy battle with cancer. He was 67. Known as the Godfather of Celtic Music, John Allan received numerous awards and honours during his prestigious career including the Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award from the East Coast Music Association, an honorary doctor of letters from the University College of Cape Breton and he was inducted into the Order of Canada in 2003. Broadcaster Cliff Dumas of CMT Canada is also inducted into the hall this year.
The CCMA Awards rounded off a weekend of showcases and seminars at Country Music Week organized by the Canadian Country Music Association.

All the CCMA Awards

Kraft Cheez Whiz Fans’ Choice Award: Terri Clark
Single of the Year: Moments (Emerson Drive)
Album of the Year: Doc Walker (Doc Walker, Open Road/Universal)
SOCAN Songwriter(s) of the Year: Mitch Merrett, Aaron Pritchett & Deric Ruttan (Hold My Beer, Aaron Pritchett)
CMT Video of the Year: Moments (Emerson Drive)
Female Artist of the Year: Carolyn Dawn Johnson
Male Artist of the Year: Brad Johner
Group or Duo of the Year: Emerson Drive
Roots Artist or Group of the Year: Corb Lund
Chevy Rising Star Award: Shane Yellowbird

Top Selling Album: Taking The Long Way – Dixie Chicks
Management Company of the Year: RGK Entertainment Group Inc.
Record Producer(s) of the Year: Tom McKillip, Mitch Merrett (Big Wheel, Aaron Pritchett)
Music Publishing Company of the Year: ole
Record Company of the Year: 306 Records
Record Company Person of the Year: Louis O’Reilly, 306 Records
Independent Female Artist of the Year: Patricia Conroy
Independent Group or Duo of the Year: The Wilkinsons
Independent Male Artist of the Year: Johnny Reid
Country Music Program or Special of the Year: Canadian Coast to Coast, CJVR FM
Radio Station of the Year Major Market: CJJR FM, Vancouver, BC
Radio Station of the Year Secondary Market: KICX-FM, Midland, ON
Hall of Fame Induction, Artist: John Allan Cameron
Hall of Fame Induction, Builder: Sheila Hamilton
Board of Directors Special Acknowledgement Award: Tom Tompkins
Hank Smith Award of Excellence: Ron Sakamoto
Leonard T. Rambeau International Award: Rick Murray

Country Club of the Year: The Pump Roadhouse, Regina, SK
Country Festival, Fair, or Exhibition of the Year: Calgary Stampede, Calgary
Album Design of the Year: Doc Walker, Craig Medwyduk, Dustin Leader, Horst Herget, (Doc Walker)
Recording Studio of the Year: Bart McKay Productions, Saskatoon, SK
Retailer of the Year: Wal-Mart Canada Corp.
Web Site of the Year: Dana Bissett, Mike Ulch,, Doc Walker
Video Director of the Year: Stephano Barberis, Pick Up Truck, Shane Yellowbird
Booking Agency of the Year: Cressman Sakamoto Agency
Talent Buyer or Promoter of the Year: Ron Sakamoto, Gold & Gold Productions Ltd.
Music Director of the Year, Secondary Market: Ted Roop, KICX-FM, Midland, ON
Music Director of the Year, Major Market: Dawn Woroniuk, CJWW/CFWC-FM, Saskatoon, SK
On-Air Personality of the Year, Secondary Market: Roop & Carey, KICX-FM, Midland, ON
On-Air Personality of the Year, Major Market: The Odd Squad, Doug, Robyn and Dan, CKRYFM,Calgary, AB
Hall of Fame Induction, Broadcaster: Cliff Dumas

2007 CCMA All Star Band Winners
Drums: Corbett Frasz (The Road Hammers)
Bass: Chris Byrne (The Road Hammers)
Guitar: Jason Barry (Aaron Lines)
Keyboards: Mike Little (George Canyon, The Road Hammers)
Fiddle: Mike Sanyshyn (Aaron Pritchett)
Steel Guitar: Kenny Greer (The Road Hammers)
Special Instruments (Tie): Larry Good (The Good Brothers - Banjo) and Curtis Tulman (theCruzeros – Harmonica)